The color orange

So, orange has become one of my favorite colors over the past ten years. Why? Well, there are a few reasons. First, my favorite color use to be green. Growing up I liked green and my brother Chris liked red. Our colors combined for a nice Christmas theme. Anyway, as I got older, I found blue to be a nicer color (hence the blue theme to this blog and I’m buying a blue phone soon). But, orange is my random color of choice.

First, how many people have orange as their favorite color? I think orange is most random of the eight basic colors (red, yellow, blue, orange, green, purple, black, and white). Look at the NFL, NBA, and MLB (only sports I follow) and find all the teams with orange in there team colors. Um….not many. In the NFL the Miami Dolphins and Denver Broncos come to mind first. Chicago Bears, Cincinnati Bengals, and Cleveland Browns also all have orange on their uniforms. NBA? New York Knicks, Golden State Warriors, Charlotte Bobcats, Miami Heat, and Oklahoma City Thunder all use orange as well (and maybe the Washington Wizards). And in the MLB there are the Baltimore Orieles, New York Mets, Houston Astros, and Pittsburgh Pirates (although I call that more Yellow-Orange). For college, you’ve got the U of Miami (Hurricanes), the Syracuse Orange (hey, it’s in their name….okaaaaaaay).

Anyway, what do all these teams have in common? I don’t root for them. Oh wait, that’s not the point. They all have orange in their colors. But still, it’s not that common. (Yes, I realize purple is less common of a color.) But I really like the color orange. Especially in shirts. Why you may ask? Well, it started with my friend Casey (I don’t know why most of my blogs refer to her). One day I was not feeling too happy and ended up at the Buenaventura Mall (before it’s current lame name). Well, Casey was working at the GAP at the time and I went in to say hi. She was bored and decided to play “dress up” and use me as the doll (I changed my own clothes in the private confines of a dressing room for all those with sick minds). Anyway, she chose this long-sleeved orange shirt and a pair of jeans. I put them on and I got a compliment from her as well as another friend of mine that worked there, Jamie. So, my ego was very big with that I guess.

Anyway, fast-forward a few years and Mary was making me buy some polos because 1) they look good on me and 2) “I’m tired of only t-shirts.” So, I picked out a teal green and an orange one. I really liked the orange one, except it was a little bright. After that, I got 3 more polos, one with orange as the dominant color and a white one with orange stripes. Then, we went to Los Hermanos where Mary permitted me to buy a t-shirt (you get a free specialty drink when you wear it and buy a meal) and of course, I chose orange. It’s just such a useful color since not very many people seem to like it.

I also felt sorry for orange after seeing Legally Blonde. I’m sure you may find that funny or odd. But I’ll explain. To quote the ever fashionable Elle Woods (played by the hot Reese Witherspoon), “And last week I saw Cameron Diaz at Fred Segal, and I talked her out of buying this truly heinous angora sweater. Whoever said orange was the new pink was seriously disturbed.” I felt bad for the color orange. There’s nothing wrong with that. Besides, Elle looked like Barbie’s dream home threw up all over her (and still pulled it off somehow).

Anyway, then there’s the fruit orange. Ask me what my least favorite fruit is. Go ahead, ask me. Oranges. Fred Allen, whoever he is, once said “california is a fine place to live – if you happen to be an orange.” Not that this quote has anything to do with my blog, but it’s funny and references oranges. I really don’t like orange. I can’t stand plain orange juice. I need pine-orange-banana or something. I do like chocolate oranges and such (hello! there’s chocolate in them thar thins). But just plain oranges aren’t that great. Tangerines I can handle. Blood oranges are ok. But naval oranges and whatever else I’ve had, I just don’t like that much.

But still, despite my despise-ment of oranges, I love the color orange for random things. Mary knows this and got me the orange laptop from Dell when we got it last year. Yes, I still love it. Some people looked at us as if we were weird for buying the orange one. It’s not like we’re in college and go buy out all the orange ‘stuff for your dorm’ at Wal-Mart or Target. Anyway, tha’s my ramblings about the color orange.

Leave a Reply

