Recollection

I love the word ‘recollection.’ It has a few good definitions that make me like the word even more. Clicking here will take you to the wiktionary page for ‘recollection.’ Anyway, I like the first definition on that page that states, “The act of recollecting, or recalling to the memory; the operation by which objects are recalled to the memory, or ideas revived in the mind; reminiscence; remembrance.” Every once in a while I do a deep recollection over what has changed in my life over the past (number) of years.

For example, today, I recollect on what has transpired over the past 8 years in my life. Why 8? Well, 8 years ago today my brother, Chris, married his wife, Gina. (Happy Anniversary, if you’re reading). So, since this is a significant day from my past, I look at what has happened since that day. Eight years ago today I was only 4 days away from entering the LDS Missionary Training Center in Provo for my mission to Belgium. Sadly, my poor mother’s CA-15 count had recently gone up again around this day (I think she found out the day before the wedding). She passed 10 1/2 months later. I came home from my mission, went to Ventura College for a semester, moved up to Logan, visited my brother Eric countless times, visited Chris a couple times, got to see both Chris’ sons when they were only a few weeks old. I got married and have been blessed with Lizzie and James. I’ve had so many ups and downs that I give the Goliath and Colossus rides at Six Flags Magic Mountain competition. I’ve technically moved (including my mission) 16 times. I’ve made so many good friends that I can’t name them all. I’ve lost 9 family members, mostly extended (and Brandi, if you’re reading, I’m including your mom). I’ve gone to more countries and states in the last 8 years than I did the first 19+ years of my life. I’ve completed 2 books (one which sucks and needs to be restarted, the other I’m still revising). I began and finished college in that time. I’ve reconnected with old friends thought long gone. I’ve broken and mended friendships. I’ve had so many arguments that it’s not even funny.

I’ve had 9 different jobs (not including mission, but including any job I got paid doing). The shortest of these was 3 days, the longest was 23 months. I’ve changed my mind on what I want to do with my life more times than a teenage girl changes her shirt for the first day of high school. I’ve lost interest in watching as much tv and playing as many video games as I used to around this date 8 years ago. I’ve read all 7 Harry Potter books, The first two Shannara series by Terry Brooks (4 each) along with his latest trilogy, the LDS Missionary Library (as it was in 2001), the Book of Mormon (at least 8 or 9 times), the New Testament (at least 3 or 4 times), five or six John Grisham novels, two Clive Cusseler novels, a couple of Star Trek books (for the nerd in me), and a few random books including Goblin Quest by Jim C. Hines (which I find one of the best fantasy novels ever). I’ve purchased every DVD I’ve ever owned during the last 8 years.

I’ve done things I thought I’d never do, such as cliff dive, marry a girl from Utah, graduate from college, be able to say the phrase ‘my children’ and refer to biological offspring, actually finish writing a book. I’ve still never been to San Diego or seen the movie Titanic. I’m good with those (although, if I could go see a Chargers game it’d be worth it).

What have you done over the last 8 years?

One Response

  1. Over the past 8 years I have:

    Co-Founded a non-profit
    Got married
    Graduated from VC w/ my AA and UCSB w/ my BA
    Bought a house
    Moved to CO
    Had 3 jobs
    Volunteered with at least 3 different organizations
    Started incubating a baby
    Worked on at least 3 books, one of which I am still working on currently
    Started a company
    Bought a truck
    Sold a truck
    Read more books that I can keep track of
    And a bunch of other stuff I can’t quite recall 😀

Leave a Reply

