True Blue

Growing up in Ventura before St. Bonaventure was a popular high school, there were really two well-known colors: Gold and Blue. Why these colors? Well, they represented the two rival high schools: Ventura and Buena. Ventura Cougars are fans of the Black and Gold, and having been one, I will always favor Black & Gold over Black & Blue. However, being an L.A. Dodgers fan is a completely different story.

When I was 5 or 6 years old, I went to my first Dodgers game. They played the Giants. It was Mormon night and we sat in the nosebleeds. The Dodgers won that game, thank goodness. The following year, we got box seats behind the first-base line through my aunt’s work. The Dodgers beat the Phillies 4-0. It was Hollywood Stars night and there was a short game before the game of Hollywood actors. I got a bunch of Phillies’ players autographs, being 7 that was just cool to get someone’s autograph, didn’t matter who they were. That was also the year the Dodgers went on to beat the Mets 4 games to 3 in the National League title game. It was the same year that an injured Kirk Gibson hit his miracle home run in (I wanna say) game 1 of the World Series against the evil Oakland A’s. That was an awesome year (when are the Boys in Blue going back, huh?)

I’ve sadly only been to three more Dodgers games since then. The year after their World Series victory, the Dodgers beat the Braves 5-4 in extra innings. It was then almost 10 years until I was invited to go with Kimmy and her sister Kirsten. (They were told they could bring 1 1/2 friend each. I ended up as the half friend. It was ok. I was able to go to the game.) Anyway, the Dodgers played the Diamondbacks. I really want to say that the Dodgers lost that game, sadly enough. It was the first time I was on the 3rd base line. Decided, can’t sit there again. The last game I went to was in 2000. I really cannot recall who they played. I want to say the Giants because I knew it was a team I’d seen them play before and it wasn’t the Phillies or the D-backs.

Anyway, since then, I mildly have been watching the Dodgers. Last season, though, I was very interested as the Dodgers made their way to a disappointing National League Championship Series. Oh well. Last year for Halloween I wore my Dodgers T-shirt and Rays cap that my dad got me while visiting my sister in Tampa a few years back and said I was a “Phillies Hater”.

This year, I’ve been keeping on my Dodgers. I’ve always been a Dodgers fan, sometimes my Dodger fandom has been dormant due to school, lack of interest in anything but football, and various other reasons. But, since it’s close to playoff time and the Dodgers lead the NL West, I’ll definitely keep myself rooting for my “Home Team”. And yes, I do care if I ever go back to a game.

One Response

  1. WOOHOO! THINK BLUE!!!!

    I WANT DODGERS WS TICKETS!!!!!

Leave a Reply

