Santa and the Chimney

If I recall the story correctly, the year would have to be 1996. It was the only year while living in Ventura that I did not go trick-or-treating. Sadly, I had a football game that day and didn’t have time to go out trick-or-treating. The only reason I say it’s this year is because I answered the door to the trick-or-treater with my dad.

I do not recall the guy’s name that came to our door. But, I recalled his costume quite well. I have forever thought it the most ingenious costume. He was a guy from our church and that’s all I recall about him, other than the fact he had his children with him, especially his youngest, roughly 6-month old son. This man was dressed as a chimney. Now, most would find that an odd costume. Well, his 6-month old was Santa Clause being held in a baby carrier on the guy’s chest. So, the costume was technically “Santa going down the chimney.”

My daughter’s very first Halloween was when she was only 3 months old. My wife and I didn’t care to dress her up that year. Also, we were too busy with me going to work and school and the two of us adjusting to having a new member to our family. But I told My wife my costume idea (that I obviously stole). I wanted our daughter to be Santa and me be a chimney. Well, my wife vetoed it because Halloween was too cold to take our daughter outside. So, my wife agreed that when we had a son that I could dress him up as Santa and I would be a chimney.

So, when my wife and I found out that our second child was going to be a boy back in January, I was pretty excited. Yeah, I’d get to have a son who hopefully will have a love for the Dodgers and the NFL. But even better, I told my wife that he’d be old enough for me to be a chimney.

Well, last week, I was having a bad day at work. I was really frustrated with a report. So my coworker Jeremy kindly brought me a box to punch as a joke. As much as I would’ve loved to punch it, I saw the need to complete my costume idea. Instead, I brought it home to use as my costume. On Thursday, my wife and I stayed up late painting the box red. Then, my wonderful wife spent Friday and 5 silver Sharpe markers coloring in the brick look. And Friday, for our ward Halloween party, I got to dress up my son as Santa. And I got to be a chimney. It will probably forever be my favorite costume of mine. Santa and the ChimneySo here you go. Enjoy the result. (I know I don’t look happy. My wife took to long taking the picture. Either that, or I was just uncomfortable from not being able to sit.

One Response

  1. We stole our 2007 costume idea from AFV. We won for best costumes at the party that year too. Pain to make, but impossible to top. 😉

Leave a Reply

