Get Your Butt Into Gear, Another Book Update

I hope you realize, my awesome few followers, that I write about my book a lot in hopes that one day you can say “I was reading this blog before he was famous. :P”

Anyway, for today’s book update, we’re going to discuss (because I guess I have a split personality and must speak in the first-person plural) the ‘next step’ in book writing. For some reason I have this Dr. Seuss quote stuck in my head. I learned it from my friend April (not my sister Apryl, the Popcorn Can’t Write one). It’s from Oh, the Places You’ll Go. “Congratulations! Today is your day. You’re off to great places! You’re off and away!” I have no clue what this has to do with my book, but it’s been a little motivating the past couple of days.

Ok, I have written my book two and a half times now. I’m working on finishing draft 3, version 3, whatever you want to call it. Right now though, I’ve decided that I’m going to send out query letters. Why? I really don’t know. I just feel that the time is right. This version of the book will have the best chance of being published out of the three efforts I’ve taken. Besides, if I don’t do it now, I may never do it. I’m such a wuss when it comes to rejection. But then again, I’m not. I spent 3 months looking for a job last year. After 2 dozen (or more) 1st interviews, I finally was hired with a job that I hope to only leave when I’m making enough money as an author. And, oh wait, I spent 2 months over three years ago looking for the previous job that I had. Let’s add up all the rejections from the two job hunting sessions that I went to. Oh yeah, before I add that number, while I had my old job, I tried finding a different job and had a few interviews during that time. So my job rejections probably total around 50. Let’s add in the two publishers that I sent the first book to. Oh, we can also add in all those girls in high school and college that rejected me because I was such a dork (somehow Mary didn’t care about that, thank goodness.) So, rejection is no stranger to me. But why is this time different?

Well, I’ve been working on Eli and the Amethyst since the summer of 2005. That’s over four years just to get to the point that I could send stuff out. I’ve already sent out one query letter to an agent concerning it and she rejected it. But at the same time, I have about 30 different agencies that I wish to send my query letter, sample chapters, and/or synopsis to. Stephanie Meyer (yes, I know some trivia about her other than ‘that chick who wrote the annoying series that has all the ridiculous hype’) sent in a query to 15 agencies. It only took one.

This week, I’ve received some awesome motivation to get my Hungarian hiney moving. My sister Apryl said “Grow a spine and do it. If everyone was afraid of rejection nothing would happen!” She also went on to motivate me with “You have to fail a few times in order to succeed. Sometimes you have to fail many times. Deal with it. Rub some dirt on it.” She also indirectly called me a slacker. How rude! Ok, not really. It’s true. 🙂 To quote Aria, a friend from middle-/high-school (did we go to middle school together, now I can’t remember), “Hey for every rejection you statistically come closer to an acceptance.” My sister also gave me further advice that has reminded me that I need to just suck it up and deal with it. “You must one day realize that failures are a normal part of success and growth.  The difference between successful people and non-successful people is that those who succeed learn from their failures and move on. They don’t let them cripple their dreams.”

So, among the 14 agencies I’m sending stuff to, I’m going to be emailing the ones that permit such a thing, and then mailing the rest. These emails have to be sent out by Saturday at noon (hopefully tomorrow at noon). Then, I will prepare hard copies for the rest of the people that I’m sending too. So, enough lolligagging. No more wishy-washy. I’m just going to suck it up. If I don’t get an agent, I will not believe I’ve failed. Why? Because at least I tried. And I’m going to continue to try. I do believe in my creative ability enough to be a published author. No matter what rejection I will receive.

Ah, time for useless me trivia. Yesterday’s question concerned my dream Super Bowl. I know that Apryl would love to see the CA teams, especially the Niners, but that’s my second dream Super Bowl. My dream Super Bowl is the Houston Texans vs the Detroit Lions. Why? Because it’s least likely to ever happen. Until then, Go Chargers!

Today’s question: Which European nation would I most like to spend a week?
a) France
b) Hungary
c) Romania
d) Italy

3 Responses

  1. Now quit waffling and send ’em!

  2. Oh, and I wanna go to all of the above – France and Italy to eat and see if there’s any surf, Romania to see Transylvania, and Hungary for obvious reasons.

  3. You’ve been to France…I vote Romania. Although I have distant (like in-law distant) connections in The Czech Republic I could hook you up with. 😉

Leave a Reply

