Ten Chick Flicks

I’ve been debating on doing this topic. I’m a guy, I shouldn’t be writing about chick flicks. Actually, I don’t care. I’ve always been a romantic at heart and can care less what anyone else says. I will do an action movie list one day. But this one is chick flicks. The thing that’s interesting about this list is the fact that there is at least one connecting actor between two of the movies. I may explain what I mean at the end of this post.

10. Miss Congeniality: My dad put it best when he said “It had just enough action to keep it from being boring.” And every April 25th I celebrate “Perfect Date Day.” I mean, if you don’t, you should.

9. It Could Happen to You: Yes, Nicholas Cage generally sucks. I say he’s got four decent movies in his career (this one, 2 National Treasure movies, and Gone in 60 Seconds, but that’s because of Angelina.) But this is definitely a feel-good movie. I like that he does something nice and ends up with the girl that has had a rough life. There are far too many people who need a break in their life.

8. Sweet Home Alabama: This is definitely one of my favorites. Reese Witherspoon. With a southern accent. My dad thought it odd that Patrick Dempsey looked a lot like JFK and that the witchy Murphy Brown wanted him to be ‘president’. He thought it too close to JFK jr’s life. I gotta agree with that. But again, Reese Witherspoon was in it. So was the mullet. It just made it an awesome redneck movie.

7. Sleepless in Seattle: Classic. Purely classic. I couldn’t leave this off my list. Meg Ryan is one of the ultimate chick flick movie stars. But she’s also played characters that aren’t ho-hum boring. This movie was cool because it’s stars spend two minutes screen time together. Not many movies do that to its main characters who fall in love with each other.

6. While You Were Sleeping: Speaking of Sleep, here’s another classic movie with sleep in the title. This time though, Bill Pullman gets the girl (he was the guy that Meg Ryan dumped in Sleepless in Seattle.) It’s funny to see Sandra Bullock play a girl who needs a break in her life. I like that she decides to marry Peter just because she needs something positive in her life. And of course, I like that she stops her own wedding. Jack loved her, she knew it. They just needed to make the movie longer obviously.

5. You’ve Got Mail: speaking of Meg Ryan, this is my preferred movie of hers and Tom Hanks. I’ve always enjoyed this movie. I think it’s awesome how Tom Hanks fell in love with her without realizing it and then kinda manipulates her into falling for him. I like how he makes sure that they became friends first after being bitter enemies. I’m sure Meg Ryan’s character ended up writing books since she married Tom Hanks’ character who was filthy rich anyway.

4. Legally Blonde: Resse Witherspoon. Tight pink skirt. Luke Wilson. What’s not to like? Did I mention Reese Witherspoon in her tight pink skirt? Oh, and if you watch the very beginning of the movie as the chick is getting ready for her date, you can tell it’s not Reese’s hair or hands.

3. 10 Things I Hate About You: Probably the only Heath Ledger movie I’ve seen. (Nope, I’ve never seen A Dark Night or A Knight’s Tale.) How awesome is it though when Heath Ledger sings to Julia Stiles. Oh, even better, how funny is it when she flashes her soccer coach to get Ledger’s character out of detention? Come on, you’ve got to love the line “Am I that transparent? I want you, I need you, oh baby, oh baby.” Or “Where are you from, Planet Loser?”  “As opposed to Planet Look-at-me, Look-at-me.” I want to visit both planets personally.

2. Mrs. Winterbourne: I doubt many people would suspect this on the list. I absolutely think this is one of the funniest movies on this list. When Brendan Frasier does his list and then rips it up, when he throws the flowers out the door. When Ricki Lake’s character is “Nobody touches me” and Frasier’s twin character says “Somebody touched you.” Or what about when Ricki Lake and Shirley Maclaine walk by the snooty chicks and Ricki Lake tells them what to go do and Shirley adds “You heard her, go &*%$ off”? Classic. Along with everyone taking blame for a murder.

1. The Princess Bride: How can this not be at the top of my list? This can easily go on the top ten comedies, top ten chick flicks, and top ten sci-fi/fantasy movies. My wife hates this movie (overplayed she says). Yeah, it kinda is. But it’s still classic and great. Who doesn’t know the line “Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die”? What about Andre the Giant in one of his greatest roles ever? “I’m going to call the Brute Squad.” “I’m on the Brute Squad.” “You are the Brute Squad.” Oh, so classic. I just can’t say more about this movie other than ‘as you wish.”

Well, that’s it. So, let’s see, a list of honorable mentions: When Harry Met Sally (never seen it, but enough reviews have convinced me of its classic-ness), How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, Alex and Emma, and I’m sure I’m missing a lot.

Ones that do not belong near this list that I’m going to mention for their putrid evil anyway: Titanic (still haven’t seen and still don’t plan on it. Oh well, my heart will go on), Down with Love (much to Mary’s dismay), Legally Blonde 2: Red, White, and Dumb (I mean, eh whatever), and I’m sure others that are missing.

Ah, connections: Well, you’ve got two movies with Meg Ryan (and Tom Hanks), two movies with Reese Witherspoon, two movies with Bill Pullman, two movies with Sandra Bullock. That’s a lot of connectivity if you ask me.

What do you think? What are your favorite chick flicks on this list, not on this list?

One Response

  1. I don’t do chick flicks. Apparently you got that gene instead of me.

Leave a Reply

