One Year

Today is my son James’ first birthday. No, he wasn’t named for James Dashner. I hadn’t even heard of him a year ago. I may have seen 13th Reality at Wal-Mart though….

Anyway, the first year of my son’s life has been amazing…well, for me anyway. Besides being cute and lovable, he doesn’t realize how awesome his daddy’s life has been.

This past year:
My son was born.
My wife and I have purchased a condo
We leased a new car because our old car died on the day we closed on the condo
We moved into our condo officially the day after we got our new car
I went swimming more times that summer than I had in most of the previous summers
My daughter turned three and forgot how to go to sleep at a decent hour (literally on her 3rd birthday)
I finished the second draft of my book and began a third
My wife and I had a nice weekend away for her birthday where I was reminded of my fear of heights.
I received an invitation for “The Book Academy” that changed my writing ‘career’.
I registered for “The Book Academy” and learned who Brandon Sanderson, James Dashner, and J. Scott Savage were.
I went to “The Book Academy” and had the best time of my life listening to ‘the bozo on the stage.
Turned 28
In the past year I’ve read 4 Fablehaven books, The Maze Runner, The first 13th Reality book, And Then There Were None…(for the heck of it), and began many books.
Went to LTUE where I met Lisa Mangum, learned who Dan Wells and Howard Tayler were (and why they’re awesome), and of course, had a great conversation with James Dashner.
Went to Vegas for Thanksgiving and Colorado for my nephew’s blessing.
Joined the League of Utah Writers and was knighted by Tobyn as our chapters Treasury, having attended one meeting.
And last and not least, I went to LDStorymakers where I met more people than I can name and joined Authors Incognito

So, that was all within the last year. And really, my writing career saw the big change with “The Book Academy”. The one thing that I impressed myself in doing this past weekend at LDStorymakers was actually set a goal. My current goal now is: In five years, I want to be a published author serving on a discussion panel with James Dashner, J. Scott Savage, Brandon Sanderson, Brandon Mull, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells, and/or Robison Wells. I’ll go ahead and add, for their awesomeness the following: Jessica Day George, Sara M. Eden, and David J. West. Plus, my awesome group from boot camp: Tamara, Deirdra, Julie, and Graham if any of them get published. Well, Tamara will be published soon.

That’s my goal. In order to get there, I have a lot of work. But now that I know what I want, I’m going to make sure I get there. (Yeah, I’m sure all the authors up there are thinking something like “I don’t want him on a panel with me, he’s weird/creepy/strange/odd/too good looking.”) But I’ve got to just be patient and I will get there. That’s all there is to it. Well that and…

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

One Response

  1. that is an awesome goal! Sounds like a good year.

Leave a Reply

