Writer's Block

Isn’t writer’s block great? I mean, what else gives writers nothing to do, quite literally?

I used to have this idea and be able to just go with it. Now, I can’t even get that far. I don’t feel like anything is coming to me. And it’s so scary. How do I push through this ridiculous disease? Sometimes, I can just ignore the writing urge. But other times, I just don’t feel like I can fight that wonderful feeling inside me that says “Write!” And yet, when that feeling comes, sometimes, I stare at my computer monitor for a long time with my fingers touching those wonderful nine keys: a, s, d, f, j, k, l, ;, and space bar. And they don’t move.

Right now, I’m redoing my book…again. Yep. This will be the fourth time through it. Well, I started a detail revision and now I’m rewriting a bunch in an effort to give it more emotion. Plus, I finally found a storyline that I felt did the story justice, ended the way I originally had planned, has some “shock value,” and doesn’t give the reader a cliff hanger. Oh how I wish I had more hours in the day when I was actually awake and not needing sleep. How I wish I had a two-hour lunch to work with, instead of one. How I wish I could writer “really well” the first time and not have to go through another revision. Not to beat a dead horse, but I’m going to quote Brandon Sanderson again: “Revision is Hell.” Yeah, it really is. Each time it seems to get worse. So much worse. I wish I had a muse following me around to inspire everything I need right now. Maybe I can sneak up to Brandon’s sometime and snag his. Or maybe Brandon Mull’s or James Dashner’s muses. I’m sure theirs are pretty appropriate for me. I mean, can’t be that hard right? Kidnapping a muse?

Anyway, what do you do when you feel like you’ve run out of ideas? My friend Tamara has enough ideas to…well…fill a book, it seems. I used to have that many ideas. And yet, somehow, everything keeps sounding “stupid” or “too much like ____”. I’m going to need a fresh idea soon. But I guess, until then, I’m going to beat my brow working on this book for now.

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

Leave a Reply

