NaNoWriMo

Ah, NaNoWrimo. Let me tell you the history of NaNoWriMo as it relates to me. Because, honestly, that’s why you’re here, to read more about me, right?

First: NaNoWriMo is the short-name of National Novel Writing Month. Go to NaNoWriMo.org to learn more. (Yes, I advertise on my blog, didn’t you know that? If only I could get paid to advertise. Such a great thing that’d be.)

Well, my sister-in-law first told me about NaNoWriMo a couple of years ago while it was going on. It was halfway through the month and I had no desire to try to get 50,000 words in 15 days. Not with working full-time and other things taking up time.

Last year, Casey reminded me of NaNoWriMo. And I got excited to do it. But, I was about halfway through an edit of my book. So despite the fact that Casey and our friend Erin were going to try, I failed at even starting it. (I think Erin is the only one who actually actively participated last year.)

This year, I’ve heard about NaNoWriMo incessantly (maybe it’s nauseatingly) from, well, basically all the writers I know. This year I have more than 2 ‘writing buddies’ on NaNoWriMo. (Do you have to pay Facebook a royalty for use of the word friend nowadays? Oo…..I claim it if they didn’t!) And I’m more excited to do it.

Something that I noticed was over at my friend Graham’s blog, he’s been discussing his plans for NaNoWriMo. This is a guy that is getting married, working his @$$ off and trying to pen two novels while sell (unless that’s not current) one of his full-of-awesomeness novels. Why am I telling you about Graham? Because the more I think about Graham’s overzealous plans and wish I had that awesome drive.

So, let’s discuss my NaNoWriMo plans.

First: I am going to be rewriting Eli as I’ve stated on here before.

Second: The week of the Book Academy at UVU, I decided I wouldn’t study for my CMA exam and instead just look how I could improve my story. So, I rewrote chapter 1.

Third: I kinda ‘forced’ chapter 1 to end. So I fixed up the first half of the chapter and ended up stopping once I felt that I had the strong beginning I sought. So yeah, I’m cheating for NaNoWriMo and having half a chapter written.

Fourth: The goal is to get 50,000 words (and I’ll do 50,000 new words) for this. That averages 1,667 words a day. If I can get 2,500 words during my lunch hours at work and after the kids go to bed, I’d be doing pretty good. The goal for Eli is actually 70,000 words. If I don’t write on Sundays (personal preference) I will have 26 days at 2,700 words a day. Thankfully there are some Saturdays.

Now, my plan is not to really change my schedule. But if I’m feeling like I’m lacking on what’s going on, I’m going to look at waking up early to give myself at least an hour before I get ready for work to write (a la Robison Wells. That was an ‘a la’ and not a ‘voila’ as I will not be transforming into Rob. Nor would I want to with his health problems.)

So, are you NaNoing? NaNoWriMoing? Whatever you want to call it. Or will you be, as Sarah Eden said, MeNoWriMoing. (I’ll let you try to figure that out as your halloween tweet.

And before your involuntary abduction, here is my Halloween costume:

Highlight the white space below to see what I am.

I’m a Tie Rack.

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

4 Responses

  1. Huzzah! Can’t wait to see snippets coming. BTW, I think you are right about me being the only one really participating… Casey kinda did her own thing. πŸ™‚

    Though, the usual is the 50k but lots of people set other goals for themselves if they know they cannot make it or want to do a double (100k). Personally, I hate the fact someone chose November for it (maybe the whole NOVEmber vs NOVEl thing), which has to be the worst possible time of year to plan something on this level. I failed in ’07 cuz life got hectic.

    This year will be equally hectic – family plans, birthdays galore this month, thanksgiving (which will more than likely be at our house), and work threatening to make us do mandatory overtime during my prized weekend timeslots for writing. -_- I’m ecstatic about my plot bunny this year but I’m not enthusiastic when it comes to how my schedule is looking.

  2. Next year I think you should go as “Blown Away” it looks awesome and super easy to do! I’ll describe it for you later. πŸ™‚

    Only one participating, Erin? πŸ˜› I wrote nearly 700 words yesterday. That’s a start. πŸ™‚ What was it that I did that was my own thing?

  3. Great costume – I was Carrie for Halloween.

Leave a Reply

