My Twelve Days of Christmas

So, there was something on Facebook that mentioned putting up your own 12 Days of Christmas wish list. Well, I think it may have been a contest  (for sake of argument, I believe that 100% of contests via Facebook are spam-generated in some form). Anyway, I thought it’d be fun to come up with my own list of 12 Days of Christmas. (The thought is that the gifts don’t repeat themselves.)

One iPad with a keyboard: That way, I have a very convenient device for writers conferences. Plus, I could theoretically use it to work on my book.

Two eReaders for my wife and I: One Nook and one Kindle. That way, we can get what we want at the cheaper price and each be able to read on one of them.

Three new vehicles: Namely a 2011 Nissan Quest, a 2011 Infiniti G-35, and a mo-ped (just for fun. Seriously.)

Four bedrooms in a brand new house: (Yeah, I’m getting creative here.) But it would be nice to have a library room so that our books aren’t scattered throughout our house like a…well…like a library.

Five tv shows on dvd to complete collections: That’s 5 different tv shows. Having The Big Bang Theory season 3 and prepaid season 4 and all subsequent seasons tops this list. Then rounding out our How I Met Your Mother collection and Star Trek: The Next Generation. Of course, I’d want to complete my honorary I Love Lucy collection. And then Survivor. (Yeah, like that’s shocking.)

Six years of prepaid DirecTV with NFL Sunday Ticket: Aw, what I would give to have Sportscenter back in my life. How I miss it the music (and the ability to watch Monday Night Football). How I miss the top 10 plays of the day and even better, the blooper plays.

Seven agents wanting to read my manuscript: That’s doable right. I have a list of seven that I’d like to say “Please send me a full.” Only one needs to say “I’d like to offer you a contract.” (This is a wish list, duh!)

Eight hours of alone time with my wife: I’m sure she’d like it as well. (Anyone want to be entertained by two very cute children for 8 hours?)

Nine Pandora One Subscriptions: That’ll last me nine years and have no commercials. That’s a win-win for me and you. More songs to add to my mashups that no one reads 😉

Ten weeks in Europe: 2 in England/Ireland, 1 in Belgium and the Netherlands, 2 in France, 1 in Switzerland, 1 in Italy, 1 in Romania, and 2 in Hungary (for family history reasons.) And I’d prefer them not to be consecutive. I vote for them to be done in 3 parts. Trip 1: England/Ireland. Trip 2: Belgium, Netherlands, France, and Switzerland. And Trip 3: Italy, Romania, and Hungary.

Eleven million dollars: I could be greedy and ask for twelve. But eleven would be fine. I’d give one to my dad, one to each of my two brothers and my sister and then that’d leave me with lucky seven. Wow, how bad can that be?

Twelve days of 8-full hours of sleep: As long as they are not the last 12 I ever get. For some reason, all I really want for Christmas is sleep. In other news, anyone want to babysit a cute toddler who smiles really big and bright between 12:00am and 3:00am for thirteen days and twelve nights?

What are your 12?

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

2 Responses

  1. I saw a bib at BRU over the weekend that read, “All mom want’s for Christmas is a silent night”. I thought it was funny.

    I would also like the Pandora subscription, but with a caveat that it not be blocked at work.

    I’ll also take the DTV pre-paid for 6 years, but instead of the NFL ticket, I want the Dodgers ticket. Too bad it doesn’t really exist.

    On a side note – you should have seen all the typos Anna threw into this comment!

  2. I’m not sure what list I would come up with, but my brother heard a much shorter variation on that particular song:
    “On the first night of Christmas, I sent my true love back,
    A nasty little letter and a partridge in a pear tree.”

Leave a Reply

