Rant This Way

Today I’m going to rant. Why? Because isn’t the internet used for people to give their opinions that no one cares about anyway? Seriously, one of my favorite scenes of You’ve Got Mail (yes, I like some chick flicks, deal with it) is when Meg Ryan writes an email with all her problems and states that she’s just sending the message out into the abyss of the internet (or whatever, I’m paraphrasing.)

Anyway, here is today’s rant:

Gnomes are people too. Dwarfs are people too. Elves are people too. So are Trolls. Brownies. Wizards. Merfolk. Fairies. Sprites. I could go on (since in my book, they do.) But here’s my point: why can’t a ‘Gnome’ be referred to as a person? It’s egocentric, in my most humble opinion, to state that a Gnome or Dwarf isn’t a person. To me, if the being looks similar enough to a human, then you have no right to say I’m wrong in calling them a person. Is Spock not a person? What about Chewbacca? Is Harry Potter a person? Or Hagrid? Seriously, I would say they’re people and that each one is a person. I’d throw in Willow and Griphook. I could even possibly say C-3PO is a person, especially if I say Data from Star Trek: The Next Generation is a person.

What is it with thinking that, just because they don’t ‘exist’ in our world, that they aren’t people? Is it because they’re that different that we can’t possibly see them as being people? Does referring to them as people lose the fantasy or sci-fi taste that is supposed to be in the book/movie/tv show? Or is it simply because you don’t see them as a person and solely as an it?

Even the definition of ‘person’ maintains ‘human being’ in it. Grr! I’m right! And I don’t care who agrees with me. 🙂 Of course, if you look at the definition you can see that I am choosing to ignore the #1 definition and go with #4, #8, #9, #10, and #12.

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

2 Responses

  1. Gnomes ARE people! If they weren’t the one outside my front door freezing his cap off would be mightily unhappy.

    I also like the title of the blog. 😀

  2. Hi, T.J. You won a prize in the LDS Publisher comment contest. Send me your mailing address.

Leave a Reply

