My Other Love

Now, I’m not talking about a person. I love my wife more than any other human being in this world. I love my children just as much as my wife. If I had to keep going, I think I’d go with my best friend next. Then all those family members that we’re ‘supposed’ to love (except I really do love them all.) After that it’s all my really close friends and so forth and so on.

But, in objects/items/hobbies, my first love is writing. If I could be sitting at a computer writing or looking stuff up at Wikipedia (that reference is solely for Sarah Eden’s benefit) or researching books at the library.

However, today’s topic is food. I love food. As a kid, I was drawn to cookies, cakes, candies, pies, chocolate, and anything that was truly sweet. As an adult, I’m still drawn to them, but I’m less inclined to overindulge in such things. However, that stupid (and by ‘stupid’ I mean ‘overly awesome’) Food Network has drawn me in to learn how to make better looking desserts. Not only that, I want to learn how to make some of those fancy shmancy dishes and then plate them so that they look like they came from a culinary expert.

But when I told my wife about my desires to learn how to cook like a pro, she laughed. She told me how funny it was that I just finished writing a book and I wanted to go on to do something else. I told her that wasn’t my goal. Yeah, it’d be cool to own a restaurant and work as the chef. But I’d rather use cooking and baking as relaxation after I’m a big published author and need to wind down. (Just don’t want to turn into Annette Lyon and go from fiction to cookbooks. Although, being deemed an expert as she is to chocolate…not so shabby on the flattery.)

Seriously, if I could make the fancy meals and the frawesome cakes, it’d be great in my mind. I’m sure my wife wouldn’t mind not having to cook once in a while. One day, one day I’ll find those culinary courses and be deemed an expert about something other than eating pecan pie … mmm …. pie……. *drool*

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

One Response

  1. Too bad you didn’t win last night…you could have practiced your baking. mmmm…..

Leave a Reply

