Book vs Movie

I’m sure I’ve hit this topic before. But I’ve had discussions recently where people say the Harry Potter movies ruined the books and my brain went haywire. So I have to rant about this topic.

First, I’ve read all seven Harry Potter books. I’ve seen the movies that have been released. And anyone who says “the movies are horrible in comparison to the book” (or anything like it) ought to be abducted by aliens. Why am I so harsh on that? Well, there’s this author, you may have heard of her, her name is J.K. Rowling. She wrote Harry Potter. This is HER world that SHE created. But guess what, she wrote books, not screenplays. So someone adapted her books to a screenplay. Someone with his or her own interpretation of what Rowling wrote. Then, you get the casting director. This person is trying to find a talented person who fits the character that they’re viewing. And finally, you have the director with his or her cast and crew putting together this film based of his or her interpretation of what was in the script.

And in the end, you know what you get? A lot of different viewpoints of the same thing. I read the books and found different things interesting and cool versus what other people saw. We may have read the same book, but we all didn’t see the same thing. Some people see Harry as courageous while others view him as annoying. You know what’s the best thing here, though: J.K. Rowling has approved the movies.

Second, you do realize you’re not comparing apples to apples right? You’re not even comparing apples to oranges. In the entertainment industry, here’s how I view this. If someone were to compare Harry Potter to Percy Jackson, I’d say we’re comparing Golden Delicious to Gala apples. If someone were to compare Harry Potter to The Count of Monte Cristo, I’d say that’s more like comparing Golden Delicious Apples to Pineapples. It’s not really fair because some people prefer citrus zing over light and sweet. When someone compares Harry Potter (book) to Harry Potter (movie), it’s like comparing a Golden Delicious apple to a Golden Delicious Apple Pie. The apple is now just an ingredient, not the product. You’re going to taste it, but you’re not going to get the same things.

I just have to roll my eyes at people who compare books to movies. They’re missing out on what they’re really watching. As someone who didn’t read books 1-3 before seeing the movie, I saw absolutely no problem with Prisoner of Azkaban’s movie. When I hear complaints of “they left out (blank), (blank), and (more blank)”, I say “I wasn’t confused. Movies have a different structure.

By the way, I’ll give you that the movie makers ‘ruined’ Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. However, I bet most kids saw the movie before reading the book. Yeah, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was ten times truer to the book. But I was more entertained by orange Oompa Loompas the size of Hobbits than one man over-cloned. What about the Wizard of Oz? Did you read it before watching? Did you know the multiple ways that it’s not like the book and almost ‘ruining’ to it? Probably not. But again, that’s why I don’t compare books to movies.

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

3 Responses

  1. To put it succinctly: AMEN

  2. “When someone compares Harry Potter (book) to Harry Potter (movie), it’s like comparing a Golden Delicious apple to a Golden Delicious Apple Pie. The apple is now just an ingredient, not the product. You’re going to taste it, but you’re not going to get the same things.”

    Man, that’s a fantastic comparison. Well said.

  3. My biggest complaint when a book is made into a movie is when it is NOTHING like the book. I’m talking along the lines of where the other thing that’s the same are the characters name. As an unpublished author, I would never release full-control of any of my works. I would always want to maintain a say in how one of my books is portrayed as a film. It’s as if these authors didn’t care. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

