Book Review: Olivia by Julie Wright

I received a free copy of Olivia by Julie Wright to review. But in nowise does that affect my opinion of the book or my review of it.

First, this is definitely a book written for women. More than likely, I would not have picked it up…well…except to buy it for my wife. It also helped that it is written by Julie, who is awesome if you did not know. But honestly, I liked the book. I didn’t have to force myself to read it. I didn’t have to use toothpicks to keep my eyes open.

Second, I actually really liked the theme I found in Olivia, which (to me) was revolved around independence. Olivia is a woman who has seemingly done what everyone (especially her husband) wanted her to do. She didn’t ever do anything for herself. She didn’t stand up for herself.

The character had lost her mother years earlier and still grieved at the loss of a mother’s compassion. In my opinion, her problem was she hadn’t found a way to replace that loss with anything in her life other than mundane tasks that were fulfilling the needs of others’ but not fulfilling her own needs. I don’t really see anything wrong with doing what you can to help others. But I do see something the matter in not taking care of yourself.

Something that struck me as interesting was the relationship with her husband. At the onset of the book, it is already strained. But as much as I said “I don’t blame her”, in a way, I didn’t blame him either. It was nice to read something where the strain in the relationship wasn’t just the man’s fault (because you know, all men are pigs). And it was nice to see her realize how some things really were her fault.

Something I really enjoyed about Olivia is that it’s the first in the Newport Ladies Book Club and the invested reader will get the opportunity to see the lives of four different women. And I look forward to reading about Daisy, Paige, and Athena throughout the year.

And as always,

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

4 Responses

  1. I think I might have to read this book. I’ve heard a lot of good reviews about it. Thanks for the review and I’m glad reading a chick book didn’t affect your self-identity as a man.

  2. I’ve been holding my breath (figuratively) to see what you thought about the book. Glad it’s good news šŸ™‚

  3. I love that you reviewed this, and that you don’t feel like you have to give up your man card or anything. And I genuinely believe that in any marriage there are three sides to any trouble: his, hers, and the truth’s. Thanks for the review. You’re awesome.

  4. What a nice insightful review. Especially coming from what my daughter refers to as “a stinky boy”.

Leave a Reply

