Book Review: Daisy by Josis S. Kilpack

One of the things about the Newport Ladies Club is it removes the cliche “The woman is always right.” Yeah, both Olivia and Daisy have “the man is wrong” in them. I like the fact that we have imperfect women and, more than anything, it’s okay they’re imperfect.

Is it bad to want to scream at a character and ask “What on Earth is your problem?” or “Grow up, Moron!”? No? Okay, cause I wanted to do that with Daisy. The thing about Daisy that was a little disappointing is I already knew what was happening to her having read Olivia. Was that a major problem having some things spoiled for me? I gotta say, in a way it was. On the same token, knowing all the negative things that would happen to Daisy made me wonder how she reacted to them.

The thing that made me really enjoy the story was Daisy’s bff-like relationship with Paige. In reading Olivia, I judged Paige to be this mousy, spineless little girl. In reading Daisy, I learned I was grossly mistaken. Let me just state, I wanted to yell “Go Paige!” for one of her acts.

One thing we know about Daisy early on is she has two daughters, one of which is about to have a child of her own. Now, this is a sem-spoiler alert. Daisy has man issues in the book (but not romance book man issues, thank goodness). Regardless, if I had written this book with these characters, I would have had Daisy end up with her ex-husband, Jared. Sorry Daisy (or Josi), but that man is an unsung hero.

If I were to rate it on a scale of 5, I give it a rating of “Three failed relationships”. (Yes, that’s a 3 for those who don’t understand that comment and/or its humor. I found it funny.)

Alien abductions are involuntary, but probings are scheduled.

Leave a Reply

